England'S Captain Jos Buttler holds the trophy

ICC T20 World Cup | England wins its second led by Strokes and Curran 2022. What an amazing and despicable fight!

ICC T20 World Cup

ICC T20 World Cup

ICC T20 World Cup on Pakistan, chasing 137-8, cut England’s early lead to 49-3 before Ben Stokes and Sam Curran came to the rescue. England defeated Pakistan by five wickets to win the Twenty20 World Cup on November 13, 2022, becoming cricket’s first dual white-ball champions, holding both the 50 and 20-over titles. Jos Buttler’s side held Pakistan to 137-8 in front of a partisan crowd of 80,462 at the raucous Melbourne Cricket Ground, with player-of-the-match Curran taking 3-12 and Adil Rashid adding 2-22.

In response, England fell to 49-3 in the sixth over as they struggled to gain momentum against a ferocious pace attack, with boundaries difficult to come by at the ICC T20 World Cup. However, Stokes (52 not out) and Moeen Ali (19) used their experience and cool heads to lead England to 138-5 with six balls to spare, capping off a thrilling tournament that spanned 45 games over nearly a month.

England’s Sam Curran poses with his player of the tournament award during the ICC men’s Twenty20 World Cup 2022 final cricket match between England and Pakistan on November 13, 2022 at The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in Melbourne.

ICC T20 World Cup

The win added to England’s 50-over title in 2019, continuing the legacy of former captain Eoin Morgan, who retired earlier this year after transforming the team into a white-ball juggernaut.

It was England’s second T20 title for the ICC T20 World Cup, following their triumph in 2010. They joined the West Indies as the only two-time winners since the tournament’s inception in 2007. The game was billed as a showdown between Pakistan’s attack and England’s top order, and in the first over of the run chase, Shaheen Afridi bowled danger man Alex Hales.

ICC T20 World Cup

Buttler responded by smashing two boundaries off Naseem Shah.

Phil Salt, who took over for the injured Dawid Malan, only lasted 10 minutes before being replaced by Haris Rauf at the ICC T20 World Cup. The ball was swinging and seaming, and Rauf claimed Buttler’s key wicket just as he was getting in, edging to wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan on 26 off 17 balls. The runs dried up, and Harry Brook had to be treated for an elbow injury, but he soldiered on as they reached 77-3 at the halfway point of the innings, compared to Pakistan’s 68-2.

ICC T20 World Cup

Brook fell apart on 20 against Shadab Khan’s spin, holing out to Afridi as he tried to get the scoreboard moving.

It came down to 41 runs needed off the final five overs.

Stokes relieved the pressure by hitting a four and a six off Ahmed at the ICC T20 World Cup, and the England all-rounder hit the winning runs. England’s Ben Stokes bats during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final between Pakistan and England on November 13, 2022, at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne, Australia.

ICC T20 World Cup

Rashid makes a strike

With rain forecast, England produced disciplined and economical bowling to thwart 2009 champions Pakistan, with Shan Masood scoring 38 at the ICC T20 World Cup. After England won the toss and chose to field, Stokes was given the new ball, with Pakistan lucky to survive the over after opener Rizwan was almost run out going for a risky single. In their semi-final against New Zealand, Rizwan and Babar Azam shared a century partnership, but another big stand was not to be, with Rizwan dragging a Curran delivery on to his stumps on 15. Rashid’s introduction soon after the six-over powerplay paid immediate dividends, with Mohammad Haris (8) attacking him on his first ball only to sky a simple catch to Stokes.

Masood started swinging the bat in the second half of the game, hitting four and six off Liam Livingstone but Rashid struck again, this time with a diving catch from his own bowling to claim the vital wicket of Azam, who scored 32 off 28 balls. Ahmed lasted only six balls before Masood and Shadab Khan (20) fell in the space of two runs as Curran and Chris Jordan snuffed out Pakistan’s hopes of a late flurry.


Mohammad Rizwan b Sam Curran for Pakistan 15 Adil Rashid and Babar Azam 32 c Stokes b Adil Rashid Mohammad Haris c Livingstone b Sam Curran 38 Shan Masood Jos Buttler c Iftikhar Ahmed b Stokes Shadab Khan 0 Shadab Khan c Chris Woakes b Chris Jordan c Livingstone b Sam Curran 20 Mohammad Nawaz c Livingstone b Chris Jordan 5 Mohammad Wasim Jr 4 Shaheen Afridi is still in the game 5 Haris Rauf is still alive. 9 extra points (B-1, LB-1, W-6, NB-1)

  • Total: (8 wkts, 20 Overs)
  • 1-29, 2-45, 3-84, 4-85, 5-121, 6-123, 7-129, and 8-131.

Ben Stokes bowled 4-0-32-1, Chris Woakes 3-0-26-0, Sam Curran 4-0-12-3, Adil Rashid 4-1-22-2, Chris Jordan 4-0-27-2, Liam Livingstone 1-0-16-0 for England.

England Innings: Jos Buttler (c), Rizwan (b), and Haris Rauf (b). 26 Shaheen Afridi vs. Alex Hales 1 Iftikhar Ahmed c Philip Salt b Haris Rauf 10 Ben Stokes is still alive and well at the age of 52. Shaheen Afridi c Harry Brook b Shadab Khan 20 Moeen Ali is the son of Mohammad Wasim Jr. and Moeen Ali. 1 Liam Livingstone is not out 9 extras (LB-1, W-8)

  • Total: 138 (5 wickets, 19 overs).
  • Wickets dropped: 1-7, 2-32, 3-45, 4-84, 5-132

Pakistan’s bowlers were as follows: Shaheen Afridi 2.1-0-13-1, Naseem Shah 4-0-30-0, Haris Rauf 4-0-23-2, Shadab Khan 4-0-20-1, Mohammad Wasim Jr 4-0-38-1, and Iftikhar Ahmed 0.5-0-13-0.

Are you having hard time to make money? Do you want to double your money? Bet now with ICC World Cup betting. Register now, bet and win million prices! Let’s go!